Executive Officer, Marine Air Support Squadron 3
Major Timothy J. Hooten

        Major Hooten was commissioned a Second Lieutenant in the Marine Corps in December 2008, having completed his undergraduate and graduate education at the University of Memphis.

    Following The Basic School and the Air Support Control Officer Course, he was assigned to Marine Air Support Squadron 2, Okinawa, Japan, in November 2009.  During this tour, Major Hooten served as a Platoon Commander, Company Executive Officer, and deployed twice in support of the 31st Marine Expeditionary Unit.

    In September 2012, Major Hooten was transferred to Marine Corps Communications-Electronics School, 29 Palms, CA, where he served as an Instructor and the Academics Officer for Air Support Operations Operator’s Course and Air Support Control Officer’s Course.  Major Hooten subsequently reported as a resident student to Expeditionary Warfare School, Quantico, VA, in August 2015.

    Ordered to Cherry Point, NC, in May 2016, Major Hooten served as the Marine Air Control Group 28, Weapons and Tactics Training Program Officer.  The following year, Major Hooten was assigned to Marine Air Support Squadron 1 where he served as the Air Support Company, Company Commander and the Squadron Operations Officer. In November 2018, Major Hooten deployed to Kampala, Uganda to serve as the Combined Joint Task Force – Horn of Africa, Country Coordination Element Officer in Charge.

    In July 2019, Major Hooten was reassigned to Marine Corps Recruit Depot, San Diego, CA, where he served as the Company Commander for Service Company, Headquarters and Service Battalion. In July of 2021, Major Hooten was subsequently transferred to Camp Pendleton, CA, where he currently serves as the Executive Officer of Marine Air Support Squadron 3.

    Major Hooten’s personal decorations include the Joint Service Commendation Medal, Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medal (2nd award), the Joint Service Achievement Medal, the Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal (3rd award), Humanitarian Service Medal (3rd award), and the Korean Service Medal.